Liked: 0

Default Complete Noob, looking to get into Formula Cars

I just got to spend a weekend at Barber with a friend of mine who just got into FE's. I had an absolute blast and am hooked and want to start racing formula cars.

I have like a billion questions, and if you guys could help point me in the right direction that would be great!

- I don't really know what class to do, FE, FC, FM, FB is there a huge performance, ease of maintenance/setup, or average cost to run difference?

- I like the idea of F1000 (my understanding is paddle shifters are only available in F1000) is there any reason to start in a different formula class if that is where I want to end up?

- What price should I expect to pay for a car in the FE, FC, FM, FB car?

- What should I budget for each weekend of racing?

- Where should I do my racing school at? I am sure there are many, but what are the good ones or one to go to?

- I am sure there is a bunch of questions I am not thinking, of... What else should I know or consider?

Liked: 121

You can help yourself to a huge amount of info regarding all your questions right here on Apex. Use the search function and have fun!

Liked: 8

Default A few answers and more questions...........

Racing is a lot of fun! But it does require time, equipment, and "space" as in a garage....

Look at the classified section of this site and research the different cars. I think that a Formula Ford (a club ford) would be a good place to start. You may also look at a Sports Racer Ford (SRF). While not an open wheel car they are a cost effective way of getting into road racing. Then there is the tow vehicle, the trailer, spare parts, wheels, tires, tools etc.....

I do not know your budget, or your mechanical skill level, but I advise you to buy a car in the best possible condition you can afford to start with. You want a reliable car to get you through racing school, and get your license.

Good Luck!

Contributing Member
    Liked: 6

Default formula car