Thread: Droop Limiters?

Liked: 0

Default Droop Limiters?

I wondered if you gentlemen might educate me about droop limiters - their history, their effects on handling, pros and cons of various droop limiter devices/approaches, etc.

I'm currently studying a March 822 (i.e. 1982 model Formula Two car) and I understand that its owner had its KONI front shock absorbers "droop limited" internally when they were rebuilt. What does that entail? At first I imagined a nylon spacer inside the shock, but I guess a rubber spacer or a spring might work. What's the usual practice? Is this something that might have been installed from 1982, or is it a more modern technique? How common are droop limiters on newer Formula cars?

Obviously there are other ways to skin a cat. For example, a chain or cable could be attached to the mounting tabs I spotted on this older Brabham BT29:

Is a droop limiter something that you'd want one weekend (at one racetrack) but maybe not the next (at another)?

Thanks in advance!

Contributing Member Steve Demeter's Avatar
    Liked: 909

Ask Keith Averill.

He gave me an explaination the other week that still has my head reeling.

He knows them well to say the least.

Liked: 3787

Richard Pare wrote in 2001:

Droop limiting can work well on softly sprung older cars, but what they are really telling you is that your car is poorly set up and poorly balanced to begin with.

The article is nicely written, but horribly wrong. I don't have a printout of the article to refer to while writing this, so I may miss a point or two, but I'll attempt a simple explanation as to what is really happening.

First off, NOTHING you can do to the car will prevent weight transfer - it's a fact of physics that can't be undone. You CAN lessen weight transfer a bit by lowering the car, or lowering the car's CG, or by widening the track, but you can't stop it from happening.

Weight is transferred by 2 main means - Geometric Transfer, and Roll Transfer.