Liked: 0

Default What should I know about FF wheels/rims?

I'm new to FF racing and have recently purchased a car. I'm now looking for an extra set of wheels to meet vintage FF/CF requirements. I currently have a set of one-piece Revolution wheels with VFF Hoosiers. An extra set will probably be for rain. However, as I look for wheels, there seems to be plenty of brands/options to meet the 13x5.5, four-blot size.
    However, I have questions:
    Will any 13x5.5 wheel do fine for racing...maybe something off an old Triumph, MG, etc... or any other factory car with the correct size/setback/bolt pattern?
    What about steel wheels...will any brand work?

Of course I suspect Jongbloed would be great as well as any of the three-piece revolutions should I locate a set and have the budget.
    Anyway, looking for some advice before laying down more $s for a set of wheels.

Thanks for the help,
    Lee

Classifieds Super License
    Liked: 158

We do not use "rain" tires in vintage FF (against the rules). Your VFF Hoosiers are used for both dry and wet racing. Some drivers will use a freshly scrubbed set of VFF tires as rains but IMO not necessary.

When looking for wheels you want to know the size (13x5.5 for FF), bolt circle (PCD), back space (measured from a straight edge across the back of the wheel to the mounting surface), type of lug nuts (tapered or shoulder) and material (steel, aluminum or magnesium).

Most Revolution wheels use shoulder wheel nuts. You can use steel wheels on a Club Ford but most people use alloy wheels because they are lighter (up to 5 lbs per wheel). A good used set of Panasport or Revolution wheels will typically cost you $500-800 plus shipping.

Have fun, Joe

Liked: 799

Be aware that different "vintage" and "club" sanctioning bodies have different rules. Some mandate steel wheels.
    Ian Macpherson
    Savannah, GA
    Race prep, support, and engineering.

4. The following 2 users liked this post:

Liked: 157

Default SCCA and Vintage