Thread: Ear Plugs

Liked: 146

Default Ear Plugs

I’ve been using disposable foam earplugs for many years, and the box needs refilling. I see that the motorcycle dudes like to use reusable ones that claim to give similar protection. We don’t use radios here.

Has anyone had any experience with the reusable ones?

Liked: 99

I'm going to assume you mean custom molded ones. Not sure about motorcycles, but growing up as a musician I had a set made by an audiologist. There were 3 main purposes - 1) Get the best fit/protection/comfort 2)an engineered reduction in dB across frequencies and 3) eliminate the unsightliness of having yellow goobers sticking out of your ears while trying to impress the girls. Not all of this matters under a helmet in a race car.

I can get plenty of seal with the disposable ones and they easily last a few weekends if ear hygiene is kept in check. So maybe fit is the main motivator depending on the individual.
    Brandon L. #96 FF
    -PM me for RF85/86 bellhousing

Classifieds Super License BeerBudgetRacing's Avatar
    Liked: 1261

I have a dozen sets of these on hand:
    https://www.pegasusautoracing.com/pr....asp?RecID=498

I don't use them in my helmet since I have molded ear buds.
    https://www.sampsonracing.com/Custom...ession-kit.htm

Liked: 146

One of the ones I was looking at was:

https://www.amazon.com/EarPeace-Moto...&creative=9325

Liked: 942

Quote Originally Posted by Hawke View Post
    One of the ones I was looking at was:

https://www.amazon.com/EarPeace-Moto...&creative=9325
    I have a pair of custom molded earplugs that are good to 24 dbA. My ears rang for two days after using them. I went back to 32dbA foam disposable plugs and it was much better. I added a pair of foam earmuffs velcroed inside my helmet and things are much better.
    “Racing makes heroin addiction look like a vague wish for something salty.” -Peter Egan

Liked: 66