Liked: 89

Default Replacing CDS with AiM Evo5

Good morning, looking for help! The CDS system that came in the FC car I bought last year went dark the last time I raced the car. I bought an Evo5 system to replace it and I have a few hardware installation questions. I am very new to this kind of work and have a limited vocabulary, I don't know what the names of all the different plugs are, for starters.

I have two questions to start. The first is that my car is zetec powered with a Pectel T2 ECU. How do hook up theECU, there isn't a plug that matched the ECU plug that went into the CDS box. The Aim harness doesn't even have a plug marked ECU? Will I need to strip down that wire and install the correct plug? THe system came with one 32 pin plug, will I need to plug into the 22 pin plug?

The second question is where does the AiM GS dash plug in? Will I need an expansion box to do that?

Thank you for any help.
    Evo harness
    CDS ECU plug
    Attached Images Attached Images

Liked: 52

Step 1, reach out to David Ferguson, Veracity Racing Data.

[Edit - see below, I didn't realize it wasn't a CAN output] That said, there is a pair of CAN wires in the 37 pin connector. They may be loose, or in a group of 4 (CAN +, CAN -, Pwr, Gnd). I would expect them to be in a connector and marked CAN... but I don't have an AiM data system. The ECU connection won't need the power lines. You will probably need to get a mating connector and install pins to your two data lines.

I would also think the GS dash connects to an EXT connector, also in that harness.

There should be wiring diagrams in the user manual and/or online.

Finally, there's a FB group, AiM Sports Users Group. Some good resources there as well
    Last edited by LarryWinkelman; 07.03.21 at 6:04 PM.

Liked: 285