Banned
    Liked: 1116

Default TBO and costs for WC VW Super Vee

Tempted to dip my toe back in the water, talk me out of it.

What's the current TBO with a W/C super vee and typical costs?

When a previous owner has gone too long and some bits are beyond their serviceable limits, what does that look like (parts availability and costs)?

If I twist an engine 500 rpms less than I would have when I thought Roger was watching, approximately how much does that increase TBO?

2. The following 2 users liked this post:

Contributing Member Rick Kirchner's Avatar
    Liked: 1474

Contact Rob Morris or Robert Merritt. Rob was Firestone's chief mechanic and has built a bunch of them for Dennis, Rob, and Vince Tjmelland.

4. The following members LIKED this post:

Liked: 33

Default WC VW F/SV costs

Daryl,

I have been running a WC 1979 March 79V in vintage events for the last 15 years.
    They are great cars and if maintained properly, they are not much more expensive to run than a FF.

Engine is set up with Bosch/Kugelfischer mechanical injection system.
    I use Carrillo rods and J&E pistons.
    I replace my bottom end bearings every 16-20 hours max.
    I go through the head every 10 hours, cleaning out the carbon and lapping the valves and readjusting the valve lash.
    Every 3 seasons or so, I get the head professionally maintained, usually new guides and a regrind of the seats and valves as needed.
    Rings are replaced as required by leak down tests, usually every 50 hours or so.
    synthetic engine oil is changed every 2 weekends.

We run FC bias ply Hoosier tires, mostly used from the SCCA guys.
    We run very competitively here in the midwest and can usually beat most of the Monoposto1600 FA cars at most tracks.

With that said, we have had a few small engine problems over the years:
    cam lobe/follower failure
    burned an exhaust valve
    cracked piston
    broken flywheel bolts