Liked: 6

Default Want to get started in Formula 1000

Hello, I'm a recent Engineering graduate and have always had a passion for Formula Racing.

I was looking for any advice or tips to start getting involved in Formula 1000.

I'm from the Northern Virginia area and would be more than happy to volunteer my help to any team just so I could learn the ropes and start getting involved in the sport.

Thank you all for your time and help.

Edit: looking to get involved with engineering, not driving.
    Last edited by FormulaGinger; 09.03.20 at 11:01 PM.

2. The following members LIKED this post:

Liked: 1108

You’ve chosen the best new Club racing class in decades.

Best of Luck in your endeavors. Great first post.

(at first I thought you were wanting to start *driving* in F1000, you are just looking for engineering experience, right?)

4. The following members LIKED this post:

Thank you very much.

Yes I'm really just looking to get engineering experience at the moment. I worked as an engineer on a race team at my college and wanted to continue doing that as I absolutely loved it.

Although I definitely wouldn't be opposed to trying driving if the opportunity ever presented itself in the future, but its definitely secondary to the engineering for me.

Contributing Member
    Liked: 89

Formula cars are certainly a great place to engineer, but don't count out the sports racer class. There are some first class prototype cars running that will give new engineers a run for their money. If you want to play with aero bits, well, they've got plenty, especially the P1 class.

Liked: 254

Default Frp

Might I suggest reaching out to all the teams the run with the FRP group. f2000series.com Don't limit yourself to just F1000. While F1000 runs with FRP there's also F1600, F2000, and F ATL. All cars of similar style, mechanical, and engineering requirements.

8. The following 2 users liked this post:

Liked: 1397