Amherst, New York but i left my heart in San Francisco
    Liked: 291

Default skip barber racing school

apparently back in business

Contributing Member
    Liked: 479

Quote Originally Posted by provamo View Post
    apparently back in business
    Totally new company - just bought the name - but many of old instructors have been hired.

Started out with Mustang based schools.

Recently have gone with expensive NEW Formula Cars like Lucas School etc.

So Skip Barber 5.0 (yes there were a lot of resets) seems to be getting back to solid ground.

Disclaimer - I have no experience other that word of mouth from some in industry.

ChrisZ

PS - Roos ended up with some of the old cars (and rebuilt completely) and some of the Instructors went there also.
    Looked up some prices - a lot of sticker shock.- if all the schools are like this - could drive people back to SCCA.

3. The following members LIKED this post:

Contributing Member
    Liked: 47

Quote Originally Posted by FVRacer21 View Post
    Looked up some prices - a lot of sticker shock.
    for the formula car school, i found only 1 day classes on the calendar through 2021. the price was $2195, just about what it was when they shuttered last time.

i can see this actually being successful, since the school cars are now F4 cars. lots and lots of kart grads will want to do this.

Liked: 138

That's a great price! Sounds too cheap even

Sent from my SM-G955W using Tapatalk

Contributing Member
    Liked: 302

Default Back in the day

When I did my 3 day school at Sebring back in 1984 the cost was $1,100 for the full 3 days. At the end of one day Bruce took us over to a garage on the other side of the track to so us a new car that would revolutionize FF racing. I think it was something called a Swift.

Ed

Contributing Member
    Liked: 479

The Three day Formula School looks like $6995 ($7000).

Now using my inflation calculator what we charged in 1980 would be about $3,000 today.