Liked: 2

Default Central Div - Free Help/Help Wanted (Pit, crew)

Hey yall,

Bio-

Newbie here who's looking for some guidance and offering help at the same time. I'm new to road racing, only recently starting looking into it as it's a dream that's become more affordable these days. Iv'e done some dirt bike activities on a 250 thump. The main hobby (first person heli-quad) I raced is in the middle of being screwed over by uncle Sam. I'm 33, live in Milwaukee Wisconsin, am able bodied enough to work on pretty much anything, career programming engineer recently moved into quality engineering (potential access to cnc). I can do some design work through CAD, CFD etc.

Interest-

I'll just jump right in, open wheel F1000 is essentially the dream. Custom built chassis/car by myself and others. I'm looking for guidance at this point, and allowing function and experience dictate interest to a degree... which is why i need your help determining that big question.... Where does one who wants to end up in F1000 start? Do i start in karting? Can a non-experienced road racer jump right to forumla Vee with the right guidance from an experienced driver(including schooling)?

Experience-

Driving - I rode a GSXR750 for a few years, had plenty of sports cars but actual track or road track experience is limited. I drive a fun daily driver... but i'm ready to sell it and leave my fun cars for the track.

Wrenching - This is where i'd say i shine right now. I can work on and measure anything to some pretty good degree of confidence. Iv'e rebuilt engines, machined tough tolerances, reverse engineered prints, i have a very good mechanical understanding... this is my absolute strength.

Desire-