Liked: 49

Default Thinking about getting into a F1000

Hey guys, been a long time lurker first time poster. I've recently sold my supercharged S2000 trackcar and looking to purchase a replacement, specifically the Stohr F1000. I've been roadracing bikes (Duc 1098 now) and cars for the last 10 years or so. I was thinking of purchasing an ACR viper when I starting thinking about open wheel vehicles. It's cheaper and purpose built.

My primary use will be trackdays only; do not plan or have the time to race competitively. Essentially looking to have some fun, maybe 8-10 trackdays a year.

I'm still absorbing data and reading as much as I can, but a turn-key package is something I'm looking for. I'm trying to get an understanding of recurring maintenance items. From what I can tell it appears to be pretty straight forward. Aside from tires, fluids, chain/sprocket and suspension items are they any other hidden costs associated with owning a w2w car?

Any other comments/suggestions are welcome!

Classifieds Super License BeerBudgetRacing's Avatar
    Liked: 1262

Check with your favorite track day operator. Most do not allow open wheel cars.

3. The following members LIKED this post:

Liked: 12

99sh, as for our tracks here in Colorado... they allow Formula race cars on track for open track day hot lapping.

Like BBR said, I'd check with your local race facilities to know for sure.

Doug

5. The following members LIKED this post:

Liked: 66

They also have open wheel run groups out at what used to be Miller. The NASA group there is open wheel friendly. ;-)

As for costs, I have been keeping pretty thorough records for the past 6 years, so PM me if you'd like more info.

Liked: 84

Might as well race regional stuff. It's the basically same exact time and money spent as doing a track day and at least you'll be safe from having to run with tin tops and you'll actually be racing and not just driving fast......just be warned once you start you won't stop.