Liked: 2

Default How to replace A arm internal bearing??

Hi all I'm seeking some info about how you remove and replace the internal bearing of the rear A arm for my Stohr. Upon stripping the car we found ours had seized and all efforts to loosen it have failed. We have purchased a new bearing but I have no idea how you remove the old one and put a new one in? any secrets.

and please use layman's terms I'm only a driver not a mechanic

Cheers
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a arm close.jpg 
Views:	188 
Size:	83.0 KB 
ID:	53835  

Liked: 706
    Mike Beauchamp
    RF95 Prototype 2

Get your FIA rain lights here:
    www.gyrodynamics.net/product/cartek-fia-rain-light/

Liked: 1875

Don't know how it is possible for a teflon lined spherical to 'seize" - it may be way to stiff because of too much press fit, but they cannot seize.

If it is because the press fit is way too much, a new bearing will be just as hard to turn once installed.

Default Relieve the pressure

You might try putting the arm into an oven at about 200-225 degrees ( remove any brake lines) to heat and swell the teflon lining. Once it has come to temperature, remove it from the oven and quench in room-temp water.

This will cause the exposed edges of the teflon liner to solidify in place rapidly, leaving the area between the ball and the case to cool more slowly, shrinking the teflon in thickness, and releiving its pressure ( and therefore its friction) against the ball.

It might take a couple tries at this, and possibly a bit highr temp - I've never measured the teflon temp when we've heated it by spinning the ball in a drill press - it was always done by feel.

Liked: 45

I agree with Richard that it sounds like there may be something wrong with the bearing housing in the a-arm. Regardless, if you want to remove it, the easiest way to do it is to buy a bearing removal tool from these guys:

http://www.cabcoindustries.com/