Liked: 3

Default Thoughts on this FV (new to the FV world)

Okay guys I have been dying to get into FV's since I first saw one years ago, I'm finally ready to bite the bullet and get one. I'm a veterinary student on student loans so I am going to be building a Vee on a budget.

I'm potentially picking up this one tomorrow, I wanted to get some thoughts/opinions/observations on this one, as well as anything I need to inspect closely when looking at it.

It was last raced in 1998, last run in 2008, has a 1600cc motor I was told the previous owner was starting to build it into a formula solo but it got put on the backburner and never got finished. He said it's a predator/bushwacker/vista chassis and missing the nose cone, fuel cell, and front shocks. Said the body has a few cracks in it as well and he does have the other matching rear wheel, seat, etc.

Thanks,
    Spencer

Contributing Member
    Liked: 5

At $1500, projects like this almost always end for sale a few years later in worse shape. You will spend about $800 for new tires. FV doesn't use a 1600 engine, so you need a 1200. Even a moderately prepped engine to get you through schools would be $1500-$2500. And good luck finding a nose for it.

You would be much better off financially and have much more fun with something like these cars -

http://www.apexspeed.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65533

http://www.apexspeed.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63312

http://www.apexspeed.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66748

Even if you have more time than money, cheap projects are a false economy.

Best of luck.

Liked: 303

Spencer,

Hard to say from pictures. However, there are likely a lot of expensive items which must be purchased to complete this as an SCCA FV for club racing. Since it has a 1600 engine, that will have to be replaced with a legal 1200. Lots of other things as well, fuel cell, fire system, belts, etc. that must be in good condition.