Liked: 4

Default New to F600 and Central Florida

Hello all! My name is Corey, I am 29 and a Graphic Artist/Designer now living in Tampa, FL. My wife and I moved down here in June from Ocean City, MD so that I could be closer to my kids who live in the Tampa area with their mother.

I plan to eventually get into F600, and I would like to know if there is anyone in the Tampa area I could offer a helping hand. I am planning a scratch build with the help of a few friends who have aerospace engineering and mechanical engineering degrees as well as FSAE experience, and I would like the opportunity to put in some work on one of these machines to get a better understanding of the overall design. I am new to F600 and open wheel racing in general, however I am not new to mechanics. I have been working on cars owned by myself, family, and friends since before I could drive, and I have spent time as a lower level technician for about 3 years.

I currently freelance from home so my availability is pretty much wide open.

Liked: 5

Welcome to the best bang for the buck in formula car racing. I assume that you are a SCCA member. IF not, go to the HQ website - http://www.scca.com/ - here you will find your neareast region (chapter), probably Central Florida Region, join the club, learn how to get a race license (We can rent you a F600 for driver's school) and start networking with the region members for all that you will need locally.

While you are going through this part, start learning about the F600 class by reading all the threads here AND the threads on the forum where we mostly hang out at -
    www.formula500.org/forum/.