Thread: Engine Rebuilds

Liked: 0

Default Engine Rebuilds

OK, so I am new to FV and have a couple of seasons under my belt. I am NOT a regional or national driver but rather a club racer at my local tracks. I shift at 5800 and have never seen my motor above 6100 RPM (missed a shift a time or two ), run redline oil and change it regularly, adjust the valves before each race and all the normal maintenance that is required to run a FV.

With this information, about how many hours can I run my motor before it's time to rebuild it? What should I expect to pay to have a motor builder freshen it up for me?

Thanks in advance for all who reply.

Liked: 304

I would recommend you call Dietmar (Quixote Racing) and speak with him. He is on the west coast (Lakeside, California), can answer your questions, and will be happy to discuss your situation.

619-561-7774

Barry (who Dietmar has helped over the phone/by email often)

Liked: 49

I'm sure each builder will have their own little preferred intervals, but I believe most folks typically have the motors freshened up every 20 hours..

On the West Coast, there's Brian McCarthy, Dietmar and Ron Chuck... Unless I'm forgetting anyone else. Prices vary a lot depending on builder, parts, how much of a hurry you are in and luck! In my experience, most builders will be pretty defensive as far as giving you a quote before actually tearing into the motor, but they should be able to give you a "best case scenario" kinda price and a range of how bad it can get Actually, I think Dietmar even lists that on his website!

Liked: 72