Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    Liked: 1395

Default Entry Level Formula Car

What would a modern day entry level formula car look like?

I am thinking about a formula car racing class modeled after FV where cars are built using a box of standardized parts, with a price point of 50% or less of US medium income, and with a performance level between FV and FF. A class where home built and factory built cars are the norm; a class that emphasizes engineering, ingenuity and mechanical skills; a car that develops good driving skills as does FV.

I don’t think a collectivist, or spec car approach is the way to go. But that is my prejudice.

FV has been a great class for well over 50 years. Is there a car design that can be that successful going forward?

I started studying this concept by designing a front upright assembly that included wheels, brakes, and upright that could be built for under $500. Recently I ran the idea by an employee of one of the performance shops and he shot back with something the guys in his shop thought could be done for under $25,000.

I know that F500/F600 are close to the price point but I am thinking about a car closer to FF in design concept. For whatever reason, F440, F500 and F600 have never come close to the numbers for FV or FF. Both FV and FF have had fields of cars approaching 100 at places like Elkhart Lake and Daytona.

Maybe the car could have 13” dia. by 5” wide wheels and street tires. Just an idea.

I am proposing this as an academic exercise only. I think it will be fun to see what might be possible if enough people study the problem.

There are way too many SCCA classes now. Another class won’t solve anything.

Liked: 1100

I'd start with 14" tires. Options keep getting more limited with 13". I'm on record as a big fan of street radials.

The big problem is that everybody wants aero these days, partly because it looks faster and partly because it is. Suddenly that puts you on a steep development curve.