Thread: Throttle lag

Liked: 0

Default Throttle lag

I'm new to racing and into my second year in vintage FF. I'm currently chasing a problem with throttle lag when coming out of sharp turns. I replaced wires, plugs, diaphragm, distributor( from points to electronic ), adjusted the valves and played with the timing. Can you even get a instant response from the kent 1600 when you stab the gas pedal ?

Liked: 610

Default Throttle lag

At what RPM ?
    Keith
    Averill Racing Stuff, Inc.
    www.racing-stuff.com
    248-585-9139

Contributing Member
    Liked: 46

Default Carb jetting

If this is a relatively recent problem, check all jetts to be clean and unobstructed. I would think that for your type of racing, you would want to be a little on the lean side.The answer to your question about instant response is: yes
    Last edited by Albatross; 03.08.13 at 11:58 AM. Reason: add info.

Liked: 102

I recommend sending your carburetor to the pro FF engine builder of your choice for a rebuild and the various tweaks that are known to improve it for FF service. If that's not a problem or not an option, you might consider a throttle linkage that opens both butterflies at the same rate instead of a primary/secondary linkage.

Liked: 10

I've used an "off the shelf from Pegasus" Ivey race prepared carb since about 1992 for autocross. Linkage is progressive. No lag above about 3 - 3.5K. I use fresh street premium gas. Slight lag at lower rpm . . . where I shouldn't be anyway unless it is a tiny parking lot with no grip.

Dick
    CM 85

Liked: 1

Default Throttle response

If the air/fuel ratio is too lean you will hear the carb "spitting back".
    - Fuel pressure too low
    - Sticking needle/seat
    - Float level low
    - Enrichment system plugged/misadjusted/in-op. Not flowing enough fuel.

Too rich and you'll get a lot of black smoke out of the tail pipe, and the engine will stumble along until it is cleared out.

- Fuel pressure too high
    - Sticking needle/seat