Liked: 1

Default Data Acquisition

I'm a new FM driver, just bought one from MSR in Texas about 6 weeks ago. How do you guys rig up data acquisition products to the car? The Aim Solo looks great for the price, but there is so little room in the cockpit I'm not sure where I could put it (I know steering throws off g readings).

Any other data options for similar money?
    #18 Formula Mazda

Liked: 29

Trey,

Moses sells a dash you can install and mount data to it. Look in the FM fore sale pics and the "show us your FM" thread to see pictures of the different installs. Good luck!

Kevin
    Kevin Davis
    04 Pro Mazda
    95 Lamborghini Diablo
    59 Piper Comanche

Thanks. I may end up going that route, I was just under the impression that any device with an internal g meter would be thrown off by mounting on the steering wheel.
    #18 Formula Mazda

Liked: 285

Some data systems have a separate dash suitable for mounting on a steering wheel (AIM G-Dash, and CDS Co-Pilot2) for example. More common in FM are data systems integrated into the dash, and mounted ahead of the wheel (Pi System2, Motec ADL, Aim MXL, Stack MFD).

The AIM Solo would not work well attached to the wheel, but the FM dash is pretty large (compared to say a Van Diemen or Piper), so I think you could find a place to mount that.

Another possibility is to use a integrated video/data system. This would not replace your gauges, but would either sync the data to your video, or overlay the video on the data. If you had plans for a video camera anyway, then you're part way there budget wise.

David Ferguson
    Veracity Racing Data
    805-238-1699

Liked: 17

Trey,

I used the old FM dash as a template and made my own out of a piece of carbon fiber from Pegasus and added additional switches for fans and aux electric water pump.
    Dave Cutchins
    Stohr F-1000

Liked: 530

Trey,