Liked: 2

Default Compare FM to other classes

What are you guys finding as a comparison of other classes to the FM, such as FE, FC, FB, CSR etc. I am fairly new to SCCA racing but finding it tough to keep up with these guys. SCCA wanted to merge the FM and FE together but my experience is they seem to stick better in some of the corners and have power to pull away on the straights.

The other thought might be there is a decrease in power, but that is why I am asking for a comparison. Definately the driver could be better, but some corners I do better than the competition, which may also be part of learning the car.

The course I run at most of the time is 2.5 miles, 14 turns and running in 1:43+. The FC's are running 1:39-1:41 and the FE is running 1:34. any insight is appreciated.

Steve

Liked: 9

Default I wouldn't lose any sleep over it

We raced these other classes head to head in 40-50 car grids for several years in SCCA. They are all more modern chassis and generally have more latitude to tinker.

When the FE first came out they were a touch slower than a reasonably fresh motor'd FM. They quickly improved shocks and some other things and were quicker across the board within a couple of years. DSR's and FB's have some pretty quick and light motors as well as tweakable chassis. CSR's can also tinker and increase their power to weight ratios and such.

FC's have less power but handle better making them generally on par for many of us.

The FM's strong suit is the motor, so yours may be getting weak. They last a long time and the power loss is subtle and tough to feel. The dyno, lap times and data tell the story.