Liked: 2

Default New Wilwood compact master cylinders

Wilwood is now marketing a compact master cylinder (short casting, remote reservoir), the 260 series. Inexpensive and really nice for packaging in a formula car.

Anybody know anything about these units? Also, has anyone used Wilwood masters otherwise? I've seen their calipers used, but have no idea if the masters are a known quantity in the light formula car community...

Any thoughts on Wilwood masters would be great!

Liked: 273

The Wilwood master cylinders work very well. I've been using them for several years now with zero issues. I carry spares with me but never had to use them.

I believe all of the PRW cars are using them.

One thing I really like about Wilwood is their customer service; they are one of the better brake makers in this area. I can't say that about some of the others I've worked with.

No experience with the compact master cylinders.
    Gary Hickman
    Edge Engineering Inc
    FB #76

Liked: 5

I have them on all three of my cars, only issue is the caps as sometimes they just dont seal, went to a really blingy billet cap which ended the issue, the last ones I bought seemed to have a revised cap so maybe the issue was solved.
    Thom
    Back to fenders=SRF

Liked: 12

No experience with Wilwood, but we've been very happy with Tilton's products. The 75 or 76 series would be comparable to the "compact" master cylinders you're considering. Here's a link to all their master cylinders.

If you want something really trick, you could also consider the 77 series. The body has a spherical bearing installed in the rear and the rod is rigid (no ball joint). That significantly reduces hysteresis and variations in brake balance during a braking event. Here are two plots showing a braking event (for Turn 1 at Lime Rock). The red trace is conventional master cylinders (on a Van Diemen), the black trace is 77 series master cylinders (on a Radon).