Liked: 0

Default Considering FV Requesting guidance

So the gangsters (Oseths) that have the shop next to mine have been enticing me to race a real purpose-built vehicle. It seems they are some pretty fast characters that race FV and some other open wheel car FA FF or something like that. Obviously, I have no knowledge of the various classes but I am an accomplished cheapskate. These guys have given me a little bit of information but I am sure they would rather not give me all their speed secrets for fear that I would be faster than them (remember I called them gangsters....).

Anyway, I am looking for an entry level (read inexpensive) FV that could be competitive in the right hands. The vehicle I am looking for does not have to be a current "front runner" as long as I can enjoy some good racing and be able to add to the car at a later time if I wish to make it into a front runner (assuming the loose nut behind the wheel is capable). So what should I look for? What should I stay away from? I would be running the regional races to start (assuming enough competitors come out for the regionals) and possibly moving to the National races..

Any input would be appreciated.

Ahh yes, I am currently racing the Spec Miata class (hold on to your hate) and have done pretty good in that class.

Thanks!
    Alan
    Last edited by Olsinvest; 10.19.11 at 12:46 PM. Reason: spelling as usual

Contributing Member
    Liked: 8

Default Lots of Options out there

Hi Alan,