• Yes - I am a crew member / SCCA member / driver-no FB / other

12 22.22%
  • No - I am a crew member / SCCA member / driver-no FB / other

5 9.26%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Contributing Member Mike Devins's Avatar
    Liked: 29

Default Unrestricted shifting in FB

Based on the latest proposal from the CRB to completely restrict shifting in FB to mechanical shifter only I think that it would be interesting to see how many of you would like to the see the opposite, unrestricted shifting in FB.

Example: Shifting is unrestricted including fully automatic up-shifts and queued down-shift pre-select.

1. Unrestricted shifting (I am a current FB driver, owner, building a car).
    2. Restricted rule set maybe more liberal than the latest proposal but absolutely no preselected gears (I am a current FB driver, owner, building a car).
    3. Unrestricted shifting (crew, scca member, driver not in FB).
    4. Restricted rule set maybe more liberal than the latest proposal but absolutely no preselected gears (crew, scca member, driver not in FB).

Liked: 84

great thinking Mike, we can finally see pure numbers on the subject including who the people are in relation to the class. kudos

ASRF1000

If restricted shifting but slightly more liberal means; current style electro/pneumatic assisted shifters with absolutely no pre-selected gear shifts....I am #2

ok, now I'm a little confused. I'm not really in favor of pre selected (automatic) gear change but am in favor of the current systems that are out there: geartronics, flatshifter, pro shifter, bazzaz etc.

Jon, number 2 in my mind would be something like a Flatshifter. It has a wire in the system but the shift is mechanically actuated by the driver. Of course if you put one on a air-shifter you would be illegal because until someone can come up with a way to police all of the issues that are in the other thread pages one through five and maybe six by now.