Thread: Newbie!!

Liked: 0

I am new to this Video side of the computer racing .I have a Compaq 5834 that has the video trap door at the bottom but have never used it.My nephew gave me his EA Sports F1 2000 I have sound but do not have video??I have 500MHz Pentium 2.
    Do I need to upgrade My 3D graphics?What do I need to come race with you guys?? Help!!
    Lee
    Ps.I have Windows 98 5. but going to upgrade it to 6. this weekend.

Liked: 447

Hi Lee,
    F1 2000 is an older F1 game that should work on your PC, but you'll most likely need a graphics card upgrade to one that supports 3d modeling better. Can you give me better system specs to your PC like the amount of RAM and current graphics card type? I would think that there's a good possibility that you're using an on-board graphics card which most likely isn't a good 3D gaming card with that vintage PC. In order to run with the f2000.com league, you'll need to get your hands on Nascar HEAT and download the mod. Some of us have also been racing EA's F1 Challenge 1999-2002 which is their latest F1 release. Great game!
    2003 VanDiemen FSCCA #29
    Follow me on Twitter @KeithCarter74

I have a Celeron 500MHz. 64 Mg.ram(I need to be at?? 128RAM ??)i KNOW i NEED A 3D GRAPHICS Acclerator any ideas?? I have checked a few at dirtcheapdrives.com??
    Lee

Liked: 210

Right now, there are 42 road racing tracks available for Heat racing and more on the way. The newer tracks (and some older ones) put quite a load on the video card and CPU's. Keith can certainly give more serious insight into how to bring your computer up to 'speed', but here are some thoughts to ponder.

Most people have at least 256Meg of RAM. A 64Meg video card is a huge improvement over the 32Meg in terms of minimizing screen lag. Keeping the frame rate above 25 or so is super important to be able to race on line. The 500Mhz CPU is really on the lower edge of what would give you acceptable performance in Heat (especially on line).