Thread: Active aero

Liked: 12

Default Active aero

Anyone notice this in the latest Fastrack?

#856 (CRB) Forbid active aero devices
    Add a new item to Appendix F, Active Aerodynamic Devices: No active aerodynamic devices are permitted. These include, but are not limited to, those that allow any degree of freedom in relation to the entirely sprung part of the car (chassis/monocoque), movable or hinged skirts, or that can be adjusted from within the cockpit. (Although some classes or categories already forbid active aerodynamic devices (explicitly or implicitly), there are others that are not currently covered. A blanket prohibition is simpler to create than it is to correct every class or category specification. If approved, separate class or category rules will be removed.)
    I wonder what prompted this? If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

As a designer, I'm definitely opposed to any further limitations on the idea of a true "formula" class, and I'll submit a comment opposing a blanket rule like this at some point (for what it's worth). We experimented with some movable aero devices last year before they were banned by the F2000 pro series. And I have a few new ideas I'd like to explore at some point . Fun to try, and a lot cheaper than a set of shocks!

If they are going to put in such a rule, it should probably be written more clearly, as it stands it will be very difficult to enforce or interpret.

Just my opinion.

Nathan

Liked: 2

The promulgation of a rule that reduces the cost of racing will generally be approved.
    The promulgation of a rule that makes racing safer (HANS device) will be vociferously debated and probably approved.
    The promulgation of a rule that makes racing faster for everyone (a new tire, fuel, etc.) might be approved.
    A rule that permits only those with wind tunnels to go faster...I dunno

Liked: 896

as much as I like the idea of fewer rules. We REALLY do not need active aerodynamics in club racing.

Thanks ... Jay Novak