Liked: 2

Default 05-06 Ford 6.0 diesel info

Tinking of F350 6.0 diesel as tow vehicle. Looking for any info from owners good or bad and some fuel mileage info. Know of a fire sale on an 06 with 15k on it.
    Thanks
    Ed
    "The visibility at the best of times is liable to be a bit hazy due to clouds of ignorance"... Carroll Smith

Liked: 42

Quote Originally Posted by aspenripper View Post
    Tinking of F350 6.0 diesel as tow vehicle. Looking for any info from owners good or bad and some fuel mileage info. Know of a fire sale on an 06 with 15k on it.
    Thanks
    Ed

I have no personal experience but anecdotal stuff from other racers I have talked to all seem to like the 7.3 more than the 6.0. Not just for towing reasons but for reliability as well.

I was sortof in the market for a diesel until a deal on a Tundra Crewcab came up that I couldn't pass up.

Contributing Member Garey Guzman's Avatar
    Liked: 858

I have a 2003 F350 CC, SRW with a 6.0 and a manual trans. The truck weighs a little over 7000 lbs.

The fuel injectors were a weak point, at least initially, but it tows pretty well (first a 24' enclosed tag and now a 28').

Commuting to work (no freeways) I get about 19.5 mpg
    Towing mileage is HIGHLY dependant on speed. If I stay around 70, I'm getting 12 mpg and it drops as I speed up. Because I live so far from every track, it's very hard to stay at 70 mph!

I only have about 50k miles on it but it's been decent, other than the initial injector issues.

Despite the addional fuel costs, I will probably stick to deisel because of the extended range with the better mileage and the ease of towing - torque is good!
    Garey Guzman
    FF #4 (Former Cal Club member, current Atlanta Region member)
    https://redroadracing.com/ (includes Zink and Citation Registry)
    https://www.thekentlives.com/ (includes information on the FF Kent engine, chassis and history)

Garey