Liked: 123

Default Paint or Powdercoat??

I'm toying with the idea of tearing down my DB1 and refinishing the frame. I'm looking for opinions and reasons for finishing with Paint vs. Powdercoat. Thanks in advance for the advice.
    Cheers!
    John

Liked: 2

I'm no expert, but that won't stop me from speaking up!

The good news: powder coat is tougher.
    The bad news: powder coat is tougher.

That is, a powder-coated frame won't scratch or discolor as easily over time. It wears like iron. That's normally good, unless you need to repair the frame. Then it's hard to get the powder coating off the affected area so you can weld it. And after you've done the weld, you can't really re-coat it.

Powder coating also hides small cracks, which paint doesn't. So you might not see that small crack developing underneath your beautifully powder-coated frame.

Contributing Member
    Liked: 210

John, a search on this topic should reveal some previous debates along these lines. From what I recall, powdercoating is more durable, but a b*tch to remove when repairing. Color is also a consideration for both, as lighter colors reveal cracks more readily than black.

Contributing Member Phil Wellner's Avatar
    Liked: 6

I'm interested in responses to this question too -- I'm considering doing the same with my DB-1 this winter, does refinishing the frame mean that the belly pan has to be removed and then re-bonded/riveted after painting or powder coating?
    Phil Wellner
    1984 Swift DB-1 #49
    www.formulaford.us

Liked: 11

I've done both options and like the pc better as the paint did scratch easily... makes the chassis look old way before it really is.
    Sean O'Connell
    1996 RF96 FC
    1996 RF96 FB
    2004 Mygale SJ04 Zetec

Liked: 23

Quote Originally Posted by pwellner View Post