Contributing Member Richard Dziak's Avatar
    Liked: 3

Default Another GREAT weekend for Phoenix F1000's

It was another GREAT weekend for the 2 Phoenix F1000 F1K.07 Formula race cars. Great weather blessed Firebird International Raceway on both days Oct 13th, and 14th. The Arizona Region SCCA sanctioned the event and was race #2 & #3 of their Saguro Series Regional Championship. The Firebird Main Track was used for the event and there was a good lineup of cars, both closed and open wheel. I was very happy to see Matt Conrad pull up into the paddock Friday afternoon with a fully prepared Phoenix and his new engine supplied by George Dean, of engine fame.

Saturday morning was cool and the weather ideal in the mid 80's at race time. Since I was a new driver at Firebird, the Az Region gave us newbies a tour of the track prior to the first run group and that helped learn the track somewhat. The Formula group was the last of the day so we went out for practice at 9:50AM....all cars to the grid. Then down the pit lane to enter the track on the right lane of the NHRA dragstrip. Well, that was not good for me. All soon as I stepped on the power of the Phoenix, the back wheels spun and I immediately spun into the right lane dragstrip wall. Not hard, but still bad enough. The safety crew was there immediately, pushed me away from the wall, and went down the track for about 4 laps when the black flag for mechanical was waved at me. Went into the pit lane and a safety steward was there to greet me, and informed me of my broken and damaged wing. So off to the paddock. Once arrived at the paddock Dustin Wright the crew chief for Matt Conrad and designer of the Phoenix quickly went to work removing the front nose cone, removing the wing and off to a local race shop for a TIG welding repair. Matt Conrad pulled in his contacts and Dustin was back to the track in 2 hours with my wing problem repaired. He quickly reattached the wing, the nose cone, and was within 1 hour of race tim